Linnaeus' summer retreat – a true gem
About the museum
The small estate Hammarby, 15 km SE of Uppsala, was bought by Carl Linnaeus in 1758. He wanted a farm on the countryside where he could spend the summers together with his family, away from the unhealthy quarters of Uppsala.
Today, few Swedish manor-houses preserve such an authentic milieu. It reflects the private life of Linnaeus as well as his scientific work.
Carl Linnaeus' Summer Residence – Hammarby
In 1758 Linnaeus bought two small estates: Sävja and Hammarby. During their first summers at Hammarby the Linnaeuses lived in the detached west wing. The main building at Hammarby was built in 1762. Linnaeus also had a small, and reasonably fireproof, museum built at Hammarby where he kept his extensive natural history collections.
Linnaeus recieved many visitors at Hammarby. Inside or outside the museum, he lectured from a peculiar lecture stool, "plugghästen" (Sw. plugga - to study, häst - horse).
After Linnaeus´ death in 1778 his wife Sara Lisa remained at Hammarby for many years together with two of their daughters. The Swedish State bought the houses and the park from his descendants in 1879 and it is now managed by Uppsala University.
We run and develop Linnaeus' Hammarby
The Linnaean Gardens of Uppsala
Linnaeus’ Hammarby is run by Uppsala University with economic contribution from Uppsala municipality. Together with the Botanical Garden and the Linnaeus Garden it constitutes the Linnaean Gardens of Uppsala.
Hammarby was owned by Linnaeus’ descendants until 1879 when the estate was bought by the state. The main buildings and the surrounding park became a listed historical building in 1935 and are administered by the National Property Board.
In 2007, Hammarby and the surrounding agricultural land and forest became a cultural reserve. Pastures, meadows, kitchen garden and hop-garden are tended using traditional methods. The reserve is administered by the County Administrative Board of Uppsala. The reserve and nature trails are open throughout the year.